First Special Service Force
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Just discovered my wife's grandfather served in FSSF - N.J. Ingram/Winnipeg MB/5-1

Go down

Just discovered my wife's grandfather served in FSSF - N.J. Ingram/Winnipeg MB/5-1 Empty Just discovered my wife's grandfather served in FSSF - N.J. Ingram/Winnipeg MB/5-1

Post  ledfut Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:27 pm

Hi. Great forum!

Let me introduce myself. I am a school teacher from Winnipeg, MB. I am an avid historian/collector with an interest in all things WW2, especially Canadian. One project of mine has been to help my wife and her family learn more about the history of her grandfather - Norman Joseph Ingram, who served during WW2. He passed away back in 1990, and regrettably I never had a chance to meet him. I would like to preserve and honour his history and memory for future generations of our family.

I only discovered very recently that my wife's grandfather served with the FSSF during the war. Until very recently, all I really knew is that he served with the Perth Regiment late in the war (we found an excellent picture of him as a Perth from 1945 at the Canadian Archives website). His wife, a war-bride from Holland, is still alive and living here in Winnipeg. She likes to tell stories of the war, but usually of her own experiences in Holland. She didn't meet her husband until 1945, so understandably doesn't know (or remember) a lot of the details of his service. She did know that he was with the Perth Regiment when they met in 1945, but she also knew that he was with in some other outfits before that. As I had never heard anything else to suggest otherwise, I had assumed he had served with the Perths throughout Italy and into Northwest Europe.